District Level

Update Archives

Upcoming Events

Middle & High School Principals Convention
February 2019
Registration open!

Aspiring Superintendents Workshop
February 5, 2019 
Registration open!

Aspiring Administrators Workshop
April 10 or 11, 2019 
Registration open!

AWSA Enjoys the Support of:

Welcome to AWSA's bi-weekly newsletter! Below you will find our most recent edition of the AWSA Update Bulletin. Located on the side you will find current and past articles, current events and sponsor information.  

March 13th Edition

Adult Learning Frameworks: Articulating What Good Looks Like

by Joe Schroeder, Ph.D., Associate Executive Director, AWSA

A common root cause problem in improvement efforts is that leaders have not yet articulated what goodbetter, and best look like in one or more area of instructional priority for the school/system. And our work with dozens of Wisconsin school/district teams to date through our SAIL Academy and other consultation indicate that, until teams address this root cause problem, their improvement efforts are potentially “stuck.” Adult Learning Frameworks are a solution to a common problem in ways that deepen learning, focus support, cultivate collaborative culture, and instill internal accountability.  

Read more.

12 Wisconsin Public School Leaders Receive Kohl Leadership Awards

The purpose of the Herb Kohl Leadership Award is to recognize and support excellence in Wisconsin school administration. The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation's goal is to support Wisconsin principals in pursuit of their unrealized goals for their schools or professional development. The 12 public school Kohl Leadership Award recipients and the 12 schools of those principals will each receive $6,000 grants from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation and will be recognized at a spring banquet.

2019 Public School Honorees:

  Aida Cruz-Farin, Waukesha, Blair Elementary School
  Michelle Miner, Wauwatosa, Lincoln Elementary School
  Michele Trawicki, Menomonee Falls, Marcy Elementary School
  Jared Schaffner, Onalaska, Onalaska High School
  Amy Fassbender, Baraboo, Willson Elementary School
  Corey Baumgartner, Kaukauna, Kaukauna High School
  David Lamers, Appleton, Woodland Intermediate School
  Ty Breitlow, Chilton, Chilton High School
  Jeremy Pach, Pulaski, Pulaski High School
  Zachary Pethan, Sheboygan, Jefferson Elementary School
  Melissa Olson, Chippewa Falls, Parkview Elementary School
  Nate Schurman, River Falls, Greenwood Elementary School

AWSA would like to thank the Herb Kohl Foundation for their continued commitment to promoting high-quality educational opportunities for every Wisconsin student.