List of Principal Leadership Award Winners

Principal Leadership Award

For the last eight years, AWSA has worked with the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation to help facilitate the Principal Leadership Award. 

The purpose of the Wisconsin Principal Leadership Award is to recognize and support excellence in Wisconsin school administration. The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation's goal is to support Wisconsin principals in pursuit of their unrealized goals for their schools or professional development. The 12 public school Kohl Leadership Award recipients and the 12 schools of those principals will each receive $6,000 grants from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation and will be recognized at a spring banquet. 

The Wisconsin elementary and secondary Principal of the Year will be selected from the Leadership award recipients.

Nomination Process

Nominations will only be accepted online at the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation website. Once nominated, a principal will receive an email notification of his or her nomination, and also receive a link to begin the application process.

Principals must be nominated for a Kohl Leadership Award to be eligible to compete for a Leadership Award. Principals can be nominated by students, parents, other teachers, community members, or administrators. Because the program's purpose is to recognize the contributions of Wisconsin school building administrators, assistant principals (including administrative or supervisory roles such as Dean of Students), district administrators and superintendents are not eligible.

Additionally, previous Herb Kohl Principal Leadership Award recipients are ineligible, however, an applicant who has previously received a Kohl Student Scholarship when in high school or a Principal Fellowship is still eligible.  Principals who have been nominated in the past but not selected as a Leadership Award recipient may re-apply if nominated. Nominations must be submitted on the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation website on or before October 3, 2023 at 5:00 pm. 


Application Process and Timeline

August 2023
We will make available and begin accepting nominations. Nominations will only be accepted online at the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation website.

October 3, 2023
All nominations are due and must be submitted. 

January 2024
All applications will be sent to judges. 

February/March 2024
Winners of the OWL will be announced.  

March 2024
The Elementary and Secondary Wisconsin Principals of the Year will be selected from the 12 OWL winners. 



Who is this award for?

This award is for School Principals. We have a separate award for Associate Principals. For Superintendents/District Administrators please visit the WASDA website. 

What about private schools?

The nomination on this website is for public schools. For those wishing to nominate a private or religious school administrator please visit

Who can nominate a principal? 

Anyone may nominate an administrator for this award: Teacher, Parent, Colleague, Friend, Student, etc.  

For more information please refer to the Herb Kohl Foundation website or 
email AWSA at [email protected].