Jeffrey Taege Named Wisconsin Associate Principal of the Year

The Association of Wisconsin School Administrators has named Jeffrey Taege as its 2023 Wisconsin Associate Principal of the Year. The announcement was made during a surprise ceremony at his school on Thursday, November 9. 

From left: Mike Roemer, AWSA President, Jeffrey Taege, APOY, and Jim Lynch, AWSA Executive Director. 

Taege has served as assistant principal at Butler Middle School in Waukesha for the past seven years. He helps to oversee a school with approximately 800 students and nearly 100 teachers and staff.  

During his tenure at Butler Middle School, Taege has focused on student perception and feedback on their educational experiences at his school. He has also worked to implement a new feedback format to gather staff perspectives centered on intentional planning for all students in every class to meet learning objectives. 

“On behalf of AWSA, we are honored to recognize Mr. Taege as the Wisconsin Associate Principal of the Year,” said Jim Lynch, Executive Director of AWSA. “He represents the incredible work done by associate principals every day throughout the state.”  

Taege helps oversee several initiatives at the school, including Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID), professional learning communities (PLCs), Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), and MAP assessments. 

“Jeffrey Taege is a supportive problem solver who holds himself, staff, and students accountable to high expectations while simultaneously encouraging all around him to enjoy the work that we get to do everyday,” said Laura Jennaro, Butler Middle School principal. “He understands how his actions impact culture, and it is his leadership that has led to improved student learning and instructional collaboration. This recognition is a well-deserved testament to his impactful leadership.” 

“We thank AWSA for this honor for Mr. Taege, Butler Middle School, and our school district,” said Dr. James Sebert, Superintendent of the School District of Waukesha. “It is representative of the high-caliber administrators that we are fortunate to have in the School District of Waukesha.” 

Taege holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and a master’s degree from Carroll University. 

The Wisconsin Associate Principal of the Year program recognizes an assistant principal whose leadership has resulted in improved student learning, instructional collaboration, and a safe and positive school environment. Nominations are accepted from teachers, parents, principals, and others across Wisconsin. Selection criteria include a commitment to personal excellence, collaborative leadership, personalization, curriculum, instruction and assessment, and serving as an established and respected community member. 

A committee representing teachers, superintendents, board members, parents, and the Department of Public Instruction reviews the applications and selects an AP of the year.  Considerable support comes from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

Taege will be formally recognized at the Associate Principals Conference in January 2024. He will also receive $1,000 for use on a project of his choice at his middle school. Additionally, Taege will represent the state of Wisconsin at the National Assistant Principal of the Year Celebration in Washington,D.C., this spring, where the 50 Associate Principals of the Year from across the country will be honored.